Top Ten Big Things I hope to do in MODx

(Who am I kidding, I can’t count to 10…)

These are not in any particular order, and I can almost guarantee there won’t be 10 things… that just sounded better than “Top Several Things”.  These are just some of the “to-do’s” and “would-be-nice’s” that I’ve identified so far as I’ve mapped out my project plan for the next few months.  Some of them are probably slam-dunks, and others are probably criminally insane.  Any feedback (insight, encouragement, discouragement, whatever) would be greatly appreciated.

  1. Integrate “Manage Users” with our company LDAP information. So I can add users by selecting them from a list of all existing employees.  Because I hate typing in employee information that already exists somewhere else on the network.
    (I am fully aware that this will probably take longer for me to figure out than it would to just key in the employee info for the 2-3 dozen people who need accounts… and I’m still hell-bent on doing it).
  2. Integrate Manager authentication into our intranet site. In my MODx dreamworld, my users will log in to the company intranet, and, if they are MODx users, will be simultaneously logged in to Manager, with some sort of smart link on the screen to make them aware and take them there. (I’m in various stages of doing the same thing with our web/calendar, our web file storage server, and our helpdesk call tracking system. It just seems like the thing to [attempt to] do).
  3. Identify the most logically sound template strategy I possibly can. By which I mean, gain a better understanding of when/how to best use Template Variables (among other things, some of which I’m probably not even aware of yet) to allow the use of one or two primary templates across our entire site.   Our design scheme isn’t too complicated – I’m going to need to customize some background images, probably based on “department” and “parent department” affiliation of the pages.  First I have to figure out the “business logic” (which parts of the design are fixed globally, which parts are fixed based on belonging to a department, and which parts can be overridden at a per-page level).  Then I need to understand TVs & etc.  well enough to transpose those rules into some sexy & ruthlessly efficient template logic.
  4. Rock some custom page-specific jQuery.  This is the one I’m most excited about at the moment.  Because jQuery makes life worth living, I want to be able to allow some (read: a carefully vetted elite group of users who WON’T BREAK THE INTERNET) of my MODx editors/page-wranglers to use it on their pages.   I think I have a sound plan mapped out involving the use of TVs and chunks to create an à la carte library of handy pieces of jQuery.  Hopefully I’ll flesh this out and do a full-length post on it someday soon.
  5. Implement a revisioning system, or at least a solid backup/recovery plan.  This is CYA territory, plain and simple.  In our current Dreamweaver/FTP-based publishing paradigm, when someone blows away or hopelessly bungles a file or directory, we at least have the option to restore it from tape backups.  I don’t necessarily need something more finely-tuned than that, but I do need to offer at least the equivalent of that.  I’ve been avoiding dealing with this issue, but it isn’t going away on its own.

…and with that, I’m out of gas for today.  Too lazy to re-edit the title, I’ll just leave this as a list of five things.  Perhaps with more to come.

53 responses to this post.

  1. Needless to say, I love this blog. Please keep it up!

    1. LDAP starting point: http://modxcms.com/forums/index.php/topic,44833.msg265026/topicseen.html#new

    2. and 3. We should set up a chat sometime. We’ve got lots of experience here … shocking I know. 😛

    4. Registering your stuff in the page can actually be pretty easy. You could set up a series of checkbox TVs to trigger specific things on a per-page (Resource) basis, and it’ll work just like magic. In theory.

    5. A mix of SVN and careful staging workflow can make things better. But when you get into DB-based CMS platforms, the stuff in the database gets tricky. Definitely adopt Subversion or other source code management and make your team use it!

    I noticed you left off get involved more closely with the MODx community and development efforts. We’re always on the lookout for motivated developers who just get things done.

    Reply

  2. Wow thanks for the tips Ryan. I’d love to chat with you about #2&3 sometime soon, that would really help me along.

    For #4 I have this (probably dumb) idea of basing per-page jQuery on the existence of a child resource named (something like) jquery.js. The template would have a global jquery block (for the jquery that relates to the site-wide/global aspects of the front-end design) with a snippet inside it that would look for the existence of a jquery.js child resource and if one is found, parse & include it. Any given jquery.js file could include straight jQuery and/or chunk tags referencing a central library of useful jQuery bits.

    The advantage I see to this approach is that if I wanted the custom jQuery on page #755 to be exactly identical to the custom jQuery I used on page #521, I could simply reference the jquery.js child of #521 by its ID – rather than having to recreate the “recipe” line by line.

    The reasons I suspect this might be a bad idea are #1) I suspect that perhaps relying on separate resources, rather than elements, might be a performance drag (?) … #2) I suspect this might be another example of my standard M.O. of becoming enamored with “my solution” in lieu of learning the system more thoroughly to identify the “best of breed” solution. Which is to say, I really don’t have a concept yet of the intrinsic value of TVs in order to identify a TV-based solution to this problem.

    #5 I feel like I have a long way to go to even begin understanding the concepts.

    And yes, getting involved more closely should definitely go on my list. Part of my motivation for starting this blog was to spread the word and find a comfortable way to network with the MODx community based on “where I’m at” right now… as opposed to spamming the forums with every little question I have. I’ve been flabbergasted at how responsive and helpful the community has been right from the start, and I look forward to increasing my involvement as much as possible.

    Reply

  3. For #5: Use Git. Not CVS. Not SVN. Git!

    Its dead simple. To create your repository type:
    >git init

    To update your repository adding all recent changes type:
    >git add .
    >git commit -a -m “This is my commit message”

    Then simply periodically backup the .git directory which contains the entire history of every version of all your files (i.e. “The Respository”). Its actually just a bit more complicated than this, but this is pretty much the gist of it.

    Listen to Linus Torvalds talk about it here (this is what got me into it)

    Then take a look at the excellent on-line documentation:
    http://progit.org/ and http://gitcasts.com/

    Note: I’d never even used source control software before a couple months ago (despite my having been programming for 30+ years – can you say “punch cards?” My old method was simply backing everything to zip files periodically) Git has changed everything for me – for the better. (and note that I am not a Linux/Unix person – this is coming from a Windows user!)

    Great blog BTW – see you on the MODx forums (I’m brand new to MODx too)

    Reply

  4. […] level.  Long-time readers from back-in-the-day (by which I mean February) will recall that this was one of my high-priority issues for using MODx Revolution.  While I don’t quite have it all sorted out yet, I think […]

    Reply

  5. Posted by daniel winks on May 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Depending on what you are needing for #5, you might be able to just get a dropbox account and install the linux/windows/mac client (depending on your server) and make the dropbox folder your webroot.

    $10/$20 a month gets you 50GB/100GB of storage, and each time a file changes, it saves the previous version. The paid versions of dropbox include unlimited versioning, file-rollback, undelete, etc. You could do all of that via their website, so you wouldn’t need to run any sort of GUI program on your web server.

    I’ve used dropbox before to implement a cheap, fast and easy backup, versioning, and undelete system on a couple smaller servers, it worked pretty well.

    Reply

  6. This is really the 3rd post, of your site I read through.
    And yet I enjoy this specific 1, “Top Ten Big Things I
    hope to do in MODx The CMS less traveled” the most.
    All the best ,Thelma

    Reply

  7. Thank you for some other informative website. Where else may
    just I am getting that type of info written in such a perfect approach?
    I have a challenge that I am just now running on, and I’ve been at the look out for such info.

    Reply

  8. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea
    shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and
    said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her
    ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I
    know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

    Reply

  9. We stumbled over here by a different web page and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page yet again.

    Reply

  10. Simply want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is simply nice and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated
    with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

    Reply

  11. Thanks for your time for posting “Top Ten Big Things
    I hope to do in MODx | The CMS less traveled”. I actuallymight definitely end up being returning for a great deal more browsing and writing comments soon.
    I am grateful, Sharon

    Reply

  12. I really want to take note of this particular posting, “Top Ten Big Things I
    hope to do in MODx | The CMS less traveled” on my very own page.
    Would you care in the event I personallydo? Thanks -Ellis

    Reply

  13. Thank you for applying some time to publish “Top Ten Big Things I hope to do in MODx | The CMS less traveled”.

    Thank you so much once again -Dwain

    Reply

  14. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be interesting to read content from other writers and practice a little something
    from their sites.

    Reply

  15. I thnk that is among the so much important info for me.
    And i am happy stuhdying your article. However want to
    remark on few basic things, The site style is wonderful,
    the articles is actually great : D. Excellent job, cheers

    Reply

  16. Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that
    would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoykng your bblog and look forward to
    new posts.

    Reply

  17. Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth
    be told used to be a amusement account it. Glance complex to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how can we be in contact?

    Reply

  18. This is the right blog for everyone who wants to find out about this topic.
    You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really
    will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject
    that’s been written about for decades. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

    Reply

  19. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Opera.

    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let
    you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Kudos

    Reply

  20. Because the admin of this site is working, no doubt very quickly it will be well-known, due to its
    quality contents.

    Reply

  21. There are many upon many security packages that do a wonderful job of keeping the home secure.
    A camera or cameras that are mounted in an obscure place that has good vision of the surrounding area record movements.
    Wireless home security systems are easy to set up yourself.

    Reply

  22. Pumpkin- high in fiber and low in calories, pumpkin packs
    a fortune of disease-fighting nutrients, including
    potassium, pantothenic acid, magnesium, and vitamins C and E.
    References: Pitchford, Paul, Healing with Wholefoods.
    If you wish to get the highest possible concentration of antioxidants, pure cocoa
    beans, or cocoa supplements can be purchased for
    an affordable price.

    Reply

  23. My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at web, except I know I
    am getting knowledge daily by reading thes pleasant posts.

    Reply

  24. IT security vendors sell software that filters out or blocks kown webbsites and prevents the
    sharing of P2P files. Supports the Black – Berry Internet service,
    where users can manage 10 personal and business email
    accounts. The hackers do not get into faxes BUT do not
    use Internet fax services.

    Reply

  25. With state-of-the-art advancements, these backgrounds can include special effects and text transformations.
    So when the latest COD Black Ops was offered up, truth be told,
    I bought it more for the Zombie side dish, rather than the main course.
    The box that is opened now is the box with the wallpapers that came
    with your Nook Color.

    Reply

  26. Hey there would you mind letting me know which
    webhost you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say
    this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

    Reply

  27. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new
    iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look
    forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

    Reply

  28. I have fun with, lead to I found just what I was taking a look for.
    You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have
    a great day. Bye

    Reply

  29. If you haven’t tried the Christmas Tree app yet, then you’re missing out on a ton of fun.
    The screen has a great contrast and a large viewing angle.
    There are physical keys for the menu, power, lock, volume,
    and camera.

    Reply

  30. Watch Dogs definitely seems to have kept its
    feet on the ground when it comes to concepts and ideas, andd that could’ve been very easy for developers
    to go over-the-top with things.He knows how to defend himself without weapons but sometimes, when he is outnumbered, foor example,
    he is not above improvising. One can attend in person or online for this FREE event however they
    do ask that you register.

    Reply

  31. I think the admin of this web site is truly
    working hard for his web site, for the reason that here every information is quality
    based stuff.

    Reply

  32. I truly love ƴour website.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Ɗid yyou develop thiѕ mazing site yoսrself?
    Pleaѕе repoly back aas I’m wantihg to create mmy own blog and want tto learn whеre youu gօt
    thіs fгom oг whаt tҺe thueme is named. Thanks!

    Reply

  33. Have invested in gold to do so. The gold in your local grocery store.
    In certain cross designs also feature in mind:
    its golden sleeve.

    Reply

  34. As a team trying to save money on tax and currency just springs investment into existence.
    During the peak of $1, 202 an ounce, the entire hierarchy of Olympic Historians.
    There is no viable investment. Whatever form of
    securities, has criticized merit pay has worked on the scene of the Mayan civilization said Feb.

    Reply

  35. I have read so many posts concerning the blogger lovers except this article is actually a good article,
    keep it up.

    Reply

  36. Fantastic site. Plenty of helpful information here.
    I’m sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thanks to your sweat!

    Reply

  37. It’s impressive that you are getting thoughts from this post as well as from our dialogue made at this time.

    Reply

  38. You can certainly see your expertise in the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe.
    Always go after your heart.

    Reply

  39. If you wish for to increase your familiarity simply keep visiting this
    web site and be updated with the most up-to-date gossip posted here.

    Reply

  40. Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your views are nice in favor of new users.

    Reply

  41. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this
    blog on regular basis to obtain updated from newest gossip.

    Reply

  42. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting myy own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like youjrs would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Anyy tips or advice would be greatly
    appreciated. Appreciate it

    Reply

  43. Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost
    you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good
    hosting provider at a reasonable price? Cheers,
    I appreciate it!

    Reply

  44. Whats up very cool website!! Man .. Beautiful ..
    Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally?
    I am glad to search out numerous useful info right here
    in the submit, we’d like work out more strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

    Reply

  45. I think this is one of the most important information for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website
    style is great, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Reply

  46. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    Reply

  47. Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and
    I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no backup.
    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

    Reply

  48. Posted by pinterest on September 20, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    I regularly post 400×400 square images and 843×403 rectangular images as part of promotions on Facebook and
    use links to drive the viewers to contests, special
    deals, etc. I recommend using a simple font that is easy
    to read in a size ranging from 32 to 40. I make boards of animals,
    quotes, or color combinations.

    Reply

  49. That is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively
    professional blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.

    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

    Reply

  50. Good site you have got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours nowadays.

    I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    Reply

  51. Good blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find high-quality writing like yours these days.
    I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    Reply

  52. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let mme know where you got your theme. Cheers

    Reply

  53. I know this web page gives quality depending articles or reviews and other material, is there any other web page which provides such stuff
    in quality?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

